About The British Society of Dental Hygiene & Therapy

Who we are and what we do

The British Society of Dental Hygiene & Therapy, BSDHT (formerly British Dental Hygienists’ Association, BDHA) was set up in 1949 by a group of 12 dental hygienists who felt the time was right to organise a professional association to represent the interests of their profession. Over 60 years later, the BSDHT is a nationally recognised body that represents over 3,200 members across the UK and beyond.

Our Mission Statement

The mission of BSDHT is to represent the interests of members and to provide a consultative body for public and private organisations on all matters relating to dental hygiene and therapy. We aim to work with other professional and regulatory groups to provide the highest level of information to our members as well as to the general public.

The Society seeks to increase the range of benefits offered to members and to support this with a clear business and financial strategy. The Society will continue to work to increase membership for the benefit of the profession

Strategic Plan

BSDHT’s strategic plan is the basis upon which the Society operates. It directs the decision making processes within the Society and provides mechanisms to monitor progress and success. The plan is all embracing and affects all aspects of the Society’s business.

Our society aims to:

Represent members at national level, particularly in the political arena

Provide services to members

Support members on issues which affect their working lives

Produce a publication that educates, updates and inspires

Provide CPD opportunities, both locally and nationally

Help members to find employment and provide guidance on contractual matters, as well as salaries, and access to a 24/7 legal helpline

Listen to members and respond accordingly.

Key Team Members:

To read more, click on team member name

Miranda Steeples

President (2022-2024)

Rhiannon Jones

President Elect (2022-2024)

Simon Ruzario

Honorary Treasurer

Sharon Broom

Director of Operations

Juliette Reeves

Honorary Secretary

Fay Higgin

External Partnerships and Marketing Lead